1.13 Interlude: No More Yielding But A Dream

 

screenshot-28

Yes, you will do nicely. Awaken. I require your assistance.

screenshot-42

Greetings, stranger. My name is Alia.

The horse appears in shining beam of light, glimmering faintly against the midnight gloom.

screenshot-43

Come closer, little one. I will not hurt you.

Even if she is a child, Catherine isn’t stupid; she knows unicorns are fairytales. They aren’t real.

screenshot-44

Power burns bright within you, but it is unfocused. Untrained. You are not ready, yet. But when the time comes, you will remember. For now, sleep.

But the creature in front of her feels very real. She can feel the unicorn’s soft hair against her fingertips, its hot breath washing over her palm, the crackling energy like static electricity that surrounds it. As her hand brushes its hide, a buzzing whine echoes in her ears, so strong that she swear she can feel it in her teeth, and every hair on her body stands on end. And then-

screenshot-45

And comfort yourself that this was only a dream.

-she wakes up.


A bit of an experimental format, here. 🙂 Let me know what you think!

FYI, the title comes from the famous line from A Midsummer Night’s Dream:

If we shadows have offended,
Think but this, and all is mended,
That you have but slumbered here
While these visions did appear.
And this weak and idle theme,
No more yielding but a dream,
Gentles, do not reprehend:
If you pardon, we will mend:
And, as I am an honest Puck,
If we have unearned luck
Now to ‘scape the serpent’s tongue,
We will make amends ere long;
Else the Puck a liar call;
So, good night unto you all.
Give me your hands, if we be friends,
And Robin shall restore amends.

-Mo ❤

2 thoughts on “1.13 Interlude: No More Yielding But A Dream

  1. AH! This chapter was fantastic! I quite loved what you did with it! I’m a super-sucker for stories like this (heh, that’s what I do with mine) so I was SUPER in love with it!
    I can’t wait to read the next one!
    (double thumbs up)

    Like

    • Thanks!!! I’m totally a sucker for magical realism-type stories myself, but they tend to require a bit more planning than my writing style allows for.(For the record, my writing style is “take pics now, wrangle a story out of them later” :P) I just saw the unicorn across the street from their house and decided to roll with it. So, the story’s going to mostly be in the same style I’ve been writing, just dipping into the new stuff when it’s applicable.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

