Liebster Award: AKA The Day My Heart Grew Three Sizes

liebster.png

As you may have noticed, I haven’t really been around a lot lately: School and family life hit me like a sledgehammer with a grudge, and I’ve had a half-finished chapter sitting around collecting dust for the past couple of months.

So, imagine my surprise and delight when I found out Livvie had nominated me for an award!

I don’t have a strong presence on boolprop (or much of a presence at all really) and I don’t contact anyone from there outside of this blog, so I’m really and truly honored and grateful that anyone has been keeping up with this blog and remembering me even when I’ve vanished for months on end.

On that note, on to the rules of the award!

Rule 1: Say thank you to the person who has nominated you for the award.

Livvie; Thank you. I don’t know you that well, but I can tell that you are an amazing and kind person. The Gallant Legacy has only gotten this far because of your and Mpart’s comments and encouragement, and I want to thank you both, but especially you, Livvie, for keeping me going. ❤

Rule 2: Answer the 11 questions the person has asked you.

1. What was the thing/event that made you decide to write?

Whoo, this one’s a little tough, but bear with me. Warning: discussion of mental health/mental illness.

When I was a kid, I used to write all the time: I would tell people that I was going to be an author when I grew up, I was working on about five different stories at any given moment, and I absolutely loved it. Then, some time after I started middle school, I just…stopped. There wasn’t any catalyst, or dramatic life change that made me drop that hobby. My home life was stressful, and school was getting harder, but nothing happened to turn me off of writing. It just stopped interesting me. That was almost 10 years ago.

Then high school came, and suddenly I was writing more and more, but not the stories I used to write for pleasure – instead, it was the kind of analytical essay writing that everyone has to go through in the school system. I actually enjoyed that too, in a weird way, but it exhausted me, and at the end of the day I still thought that writing was more effort than it was worth, even if it was fun.

And then college happened. It…didn’t go well for me. I had been planning on taking a gap year before starting, but my parents talked me into going straight to a school that had offered me a nice scholarship. I don’t resent them for it, they thought it was the best option for me, but I just wasn’t mentally prepared. Working on projects for school exhausted me still, but now it was worse. I would wake up the morning after finishing a paper and feel like I’d had a nap instead of a solid 8 hours of sleep. Going to classes made me feel anxious and uncomfortable for no identifiable reason, and eventually the anxiety and the constant exhaustion made it so that I stopped going to classes altogether.

I had been seeing a therapist for about 2 years at that point, so I had a mental health professional available to me every other week, but for some reason I just didn’t want to talk about what was happening to me with anyone. It wasn’t until I had a breakdown in my therapist’s office when he asked me how classes were going that the topic was forced into the open. He diagnosed me with clinical depression, advised that I take a medical leave of absence from my school until I felt secure going back, and prescribed me some antidepressants.

It’s been almost 2 years now, and I’m back in school, pursuing a degree in Communications. I still sometimes have bad days when all I want to do is stare at the wall, but now I know what that creeping foggy feeling is, and I have some really great people in my life who are understanding and willing to help me through it. A little while before I went back to school, I remembered how much I used to love writing, and playing The Sims, and decided to try to mix the two and push myself into a good habit.

anyway_stamp.jpg

So, what thing or event made me start(or rather, re-start) writing? Not any one thing, but the personal decision to try to push back against my mental illness, and do what makes me happy even if there’s an insidious voice in the back of my head saying that it’s useless. Writing still tends to exhaust me emotionally, and it can take a while to work myself up to going at it, but it’s also one of the most consistent sources of happiness in my life, so all in all I think it’s worth it.

2. Do you have a favorite character/creation/storyline? If so, who/what and why?

Hmm. Honestly, this legacy has been a damn mess in regards to coherent storylines and characterization. But if I can pull off, what I have planned to explain my universe’s supernatural elements will be pretty damn neat, if I do say so myself. ^u^ Let’s just say that I love plot twists that make all the weird stuff beforehand suddenly make sense.

Screenshot-147

3. What’s one of the things that makes you tick?

I really love understanding things. That “oh” moment you get when something finally clicks for you is such a great feeling, I love it. (Secret’s out, I’m kind of a nerd)

4. What is your least favorite story/movie/TV show?

But there’s so much terrible stuff out there to choose from! jk, jk

For real, I can actually enjoy a lot of terrible movies, just because they’re terrible, but I can’t stand something that’s disappointing. So, for me, my current least favorite is probably Iron Fist.

Board-Room

Pictured: A superhero show.

I was a big fan of Daredevil/Jessica Jones/Luke Cage, and seeing the last member of the Defender’s have such a “Meh” show was horribly disappointing. If you did like it, more power to you, but boardroom meetings and soap opera plot lines are not what I was looking for in a superhero show about Kung Fu. Just saying.

5. What is something you “need” in order to function each day?

image19.png

Coffee. Hands down my #1 necessity. There’s a running gag with my friends where whenever we hang out, we always stop so that I can grab some coffee first. Last Christmas I got two different travel coffee mugs from two completely different people.

6. What is the thing that makes you happy every time you see/hear it?

IMG_20161108_142227.jpg

Behold, my angel, my baby, my sweet tiny soft cat daughter! Her name is Adele and I love her to pieces and would kill a man for her without hesitation.

7. If you could live anywhere in the world – money and distance not being an issue – where would it be and why?

gondola-ride.jpg

Venice. I went there once when I was a tiny child and I still have fond memories of that city.

8. What’s your Sims confession?

This is a very unpopular opinion amongst Simmers, so I apologize if this offends you, but I just do not get the appeal of baby or toddler sims. They’re little meatballs who can’t take care of themselves and have a terribly limited variety of clothes and hairstyles. I love real world kids, my cousin has 9-month-old twins who I adore, but for whatever reason Sims babies and toddlers just kind of irritate me. *shrug*

9. Describe your ideal “perfect” day?

I wake up naturally at 7:30 in the morning. It’s light outside, but still dim enough that I can look out the window without squinting. When I walk out into the living room, my beautiful and caring boyfriend/husband has a mug of perfectly brewed and flavored coffee waiting for me. As I drink it, he massages my back – his hands are strong, but he is incredibly gentle. We make and eat breakfast together, then spend the morning taking turns reading out loud from a book. It’s not very good, but we have a standing competition on who can make it more interesting just by how they narrate it. In the afternoon, I go for a walk in the woods around our house while he whittles wood or hugs baby animals or something. We’re close enough to a town that we get decent wifi, but far enough from anyone else that I can walk for hours without seeing another human being.

(Not realistic, but it is my ideal day!)

10. If you could trade places with any of the fictional (maybe nonfictional?) characters you have read/written/seen, who would it be and why?

When I was a kid I read this book by Eva Ibbotson called Island of the Aunts about some older women who run a secret animal sanctuary on an island and kind of kidnap some children to take care of the island when they die. The island is also a sanctuary for magical creatures like mermaids/selkies/etc, so for me as a child it was basically heaven, and I still really dig that idea.

11. To carry on the wonderful theme: can I have a hug?

HELL YES YOU CAN!!!!!!

oprah.gif

EVERYONE GETS A HUG!!


Now, time to nominate other stories! These are some wonderful Simmers whose legacies I finally have time to start reading.

  1. Loralie0512 – Whisp LEPacy
  2. Saltylisa – The Valley Legacy

I would also add Livvielove’s Reapers Genetic Legacy, and Mpart’s Edhen Dath, but they were both already nominated. Go check them out if you haven’t already, give ’em some love!

And my questions for my nominees are:

  1. What is your favorite thing to write and why?
  2. What’s your favorite book + favorite non-spoilery part of that book?
  3. If you could have one wish granted, what would it be?
  4. What motivates you?
  5. Have you ever been stuck in a foreign country/another state?
  6. What’s your favorite Sims 3 Expansion Pack and why?
  7. If you could only eat one thing for the rest of your life, what would it be?
  8. What’s your favorite comfort food?
  9. What’s your Hogwarts house?
  10. Do you have any cats/dogs/birds/goldfish/etc?
  11. Continuing this trend…Can I have a hug?

Everyone on the boolprop forums is amazing, but unfortunately I haven’t had time until now to read many of their stories. I’m always looking for new legacies to read, so feel free to drop a comment with a link to yours!

Love,

Mo ❤

 

3 thoughts on “Liebster Award: AKA The Day My Heart Grew Three Sizes

  1. As someone who understands how hard it is writing with a mental illness, I admire your bravery and willingness to talk about it. Also, your cat is adorable!!! Ah!! High-fives for coffee!

    Like

      • Thank you! I’ve been trying to be more open about talking about it, and it’s wonderful to get a positive response 😀 My cat thanks you for the compliment! High-fives back at you!!!!
        Your story is really amazing! I’m hoping to sit down sometime this weekend and finally get to finish it!!! ❤

        Like

Leave a Reply

