1.9 Building and a Baby

Last time, Eleanor became a sentient being and the Gallant’s got $120,000 in cold hard cash. This time, that money is put to (sort of) good use, and Eleanor gets a sibling.


screenshot-2

Behold, a not shitty house! These pictures were taken in Spring so the house would be visible instead of buried under a foot of snow, so it’s a slight jump forward in time.(Ignore that extra car, it doesn’t exist yet in the current timeline.)

screenshot-5

The upstairs(clockwise, left to right): library/gallery, upstairs hall, bathroom, nursery, balcony with telescope.

screenshot-6

Downstairs(clockwise, starting in the bottom left): Eleanor’s room, Brienne and Jared’s room, the living area/TV room, laundry room, dining room for special occasions, bathroom, main room and kitchen.

I’m generally pretty awful at architecture/interior design, so I was surprised to find myself actually satisfied with the final result. It’s a little eclectic, but I’m okay with that. My plan with the library is to have a set of blank walls set up along the middle to hang family portraits, but the space ended up too cramped for that to really be effective.


screenshot-27

El: WOOHOO SNOW DAYYY!!!!

Because she hasn’t had enough of those already. *sigh*

Screenshot-29.jpg

Of course, another snow day means another day of mom lecturing her on decorum over breakfast. Yawn! Can’t a girl eat her morning birthday cake in peace??

Eventually Brienne leaves her alone, because, as the famous saying goes…

screenshot-32

…when Vita Alto’s away…

screenshot-35

…a heavily pregnant cop will come out to play.

screenshot-33

Or. You know. Dig through her trash for the millionth time.


screenshot-40

Brienne: Say hello to your baby brother, Eleanor.

El: Hello, squirt. Aw man, it feels like he’s doing some sick kick-flips in there.

Brienne: He is quite feisty, is he not?

Jared continues to be semi-absent, struggling to balance work, family, and his few out-of-work friendships. One night he goes to a party held by Madison, who for some reason is living with her baby daddy in Connor’s house. No sooner has he walked in the door than-

screenshot-41

Madison: Woah, I just felt something…

Jared: Ha! Probably some bad sushi!

Madison: No, asshole, I think- I think the baby’s coming…

Jared: Yeah, whatever.

screenshot-42

Jared: WAIT THE BABY’S COMING?!

Madison: OH GOD SOMEONE TAKE ME TO THE HOSPITAL

Meanwhile, at the exact same moment across town…

screenshot-44

Brienne: I REQUIRE A DOCTOR IMMEDIATELY

screenshot-45

Despite her horrific facial contortions, Brienne calmly calls a taxi and is driven to the hospital without a fuss.

Back at the Frenchfry residence, Jared gets a call from the hospital that his wife drove herself over to give birth and promptly forgets Madison’s existence.

screenshot-48

Jared: Smell ya’ later!

Madison: Thanks for coming to my party Jared person-person-plus!

screenshot-46

Madison: Now, which of you lot is going to drive me over?

Screenshot-47.jpg

Madison: Absolutely none of you. Wonderful.

Jamie: Haha this is totally going on Youtube.

 

Both of the Gallants arrive in good time, and the birth is free of any complications.

Screenshot-49.jpg

They welcome a bouncing baby boy to the world! His name is-wait.

baby.jpg

WAIT.

I don’t understand what happened here. Brienne guzzled apples on her second day of pregnancy. She didn’t eat a single watermelon! And yet, her kid is a girl.

Ugh, whatever. Personally I really don’t mind the gender of my sims either way, but now I have to cancel a 5k+ wish on both Connor and Brienne, because she’s not spending any more time off for maternity leave.

screenshot-79

ANYWAY, MOVING ALONG.

I did some last minute scrambling to come up with a suitable name, and now I happily introduce you to Catherine Gallant, named after Catherine of Aragon, the first wife of Henry the VIII(yes, that Henry the VIII), who allegedly rode into battle to muster her troops in full armor while heavily pregnant. She rolled excitable and virtuoso as her first traits, and will now be almost completely ignored until she gets old enough to be interesting.

screenshot-68

Her mom shows her a lot more love than I do.

Screenshot-75.jpg

Eleanor finally reaches level 5 painting, so I show mom a little love to make up for my neglect of Catherine. The portrait looks surprisingly good!

screenshot-74

If only the painter could stay focused on it and stop playing video games every 5 seconds.

El: Dunno what you’re talking about.


screenshot-78

Jared spares a moment in his bustling schedule to pamper his littlest baby girl. He’s a rapidly rising star in the culinary world, but he still has the energy to roll wishes to snuggle or hold Catherine.

screenshot-76

And to keep getting promotions! Jared is officially an Executive Chef, which is surprising and not a little confusing seeing as he works out of a burger joint. Rumors abound that he threatened his boss Chris Steel into creating the elite position for him in the fry-cook hierarchy, but of course no one has any proof.

screenshot-77

Still giddy with the thought of his implausible position in his career, Jared heads back into Hogan’s Deep-Fried Diner to make a few changes in management. By the end of the night, he is the sole owner of the establishment, and it’s been renamed The Frenchfry, just to annoy Connor.


screenshot-80screenshot-81

Eleanor finishes Brienne’s portrait, which is hung up to collect dust in the family’s untouched library. Regardless, it counts as a point, which my perfectionist self is only too happy to take!


I’m pretty miffed about having to delete those wishes for a boy, not gonna lie. Although Brienne raising a duo of strong warrior women is pretty fitting for who she is.

The simultaneous birth with Madison makes up for it though. And her kid is a boy! Part of me is automatically itching to arrange a romance or at least platonic-soulmate relationship between him and Catherine, because seriously, what are the odds, but my rational side is cautiously waiting to see how he turns out, both traits and appearance-wise(Again, I don’t care so much about whether he’s gorgeous, but Bunch genetics tend to stick around for generations, and I’d rather not deal with that).

Thanks for reading!

Points: 3

3 thoughts on “1.9 Building and a Baby

  1. I think I know what happened!
    I had this happen in my short dynasty – you play with story progression? It’s automatically set to balanced gender for children, and you should switch it to “Random” for the watermelon/apple trick to work!

    Anyways. CATHERINE WAS MY FAVORITE WIFE OF HENRY VIII (THE DICK). SHE’S BADASS and I’m pleased you named her such. Catherine will be fabulous either way.
    She’s like “pssh, you don’t need a boy. You got CATHERINE.”

    Oh let’s hope this boy favors Madison – she’s got pretty genetics. Bunch genetics though… *shivers*
    Maybe you could do a quick Plastic Surgery on the poor boy? XD

    Like

    • 😱 That sounds…distressingly plausible. Goddammit story progression! You’re supposed to fuck around with my town, not MY family! ugh.
      CATHERINE WAS AMAZING AND DIDN’T DESERVE ANY OF THE SHIT SHE WENT THROUGH. Period.
      Honestly, I don’t even care whether the kid’s cute like his mom, so long as he doesn’t inherit the infamous Bunch nose-mouth gap. The game can throw a lot of shit at me, but so long as that particular genetic pitfall skips him over I’ll be happy.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh dear, that nose-mouth gap is the sole reason I won’t touch those Bunches with a 10 foot pole. Like, I’m all about unique genetics (I mean, I’ve got a minor obsession with Quinn Flanagan from DV which is why he even gets his own story in my world), but those Bunches are…
        May the odds be ever in your favor, deary.
        For what it’s worth, you’d be surprised what interesting genetics can do, in my very original legacy I used Tragic Clown as a founder’s spouse and he actually gave me adorable children, despite his… *unique* genetics… (coughs) that man was NOT photogenic AT ALL.
        Either way, I would just tweak your Story Progression settings when you get in to “Random” if you want to use the fruit trick. =D

        Like

Leave a comment